Is happiness triangle shaped?

I guess for those who like Toblerone, perhaps those happy tastebuds sensations are triangle shaped?

Author CJ Tudor is holding a giant Toblerone in front of her. It is nearly 1 metre wide and she is holding it in two hands, and she has a large smile.
The lovely CJ Tudor author, providing important human scale to the auction item

I’m not one to craft, so my contributions to this year’s DecemberFundraiser, for and by Richard Armitage fans, is a personalised giant Toblerone and (if there aren’t too many already!) a couple of signed Geneva books (more about the books in a separate post).  I have to say, the giant Toblerone is the most wonderful, edible, shareable, auction item, and I encourage everyone to bid for it! 

For the sake of science, I bought a similar, plain, non-personalised giant Toblerone, to open up and show you what you can expect from the personalised one! I shared out the giant Toblerone triangles at work amongst my colleagues, and we were all smiling and laughing like children in a sweetshop. 

Imagine sharing this special auction item out (or enjoying it all yourself!) with that same feeling of childhood fun!

3 sizes of Toblerone on a wooden desk with a black square ruler
3 sizes of Toblerone (standard, medium and giant)

Toblerone comes in a variety of sizes, and now they have truffle options too.  In the photo I show you a 100 g (standard), 360 g (medium) and the giant 4.5 kg version of the bars.  I’m sure I’ve seen a pick-and-mix ‘fun size’ mini Toblerone too, but I haven’t found such in the shops lately.  And I didn’t spot the 760 g (large) version either.  I’ve put the 3 sizes (standard, medium and giant) together to give you some scale.  Ms CJ Tudor was also generous enough to put some human scale to the giant one too!

Close up of three Toblerone bars showing the net weight of them.
Close up of three Toblerone bars showing the net weight of them.

I decided to test the TikTok viral of ‘how to share a Toblerone’ to see if it would work for all these sizes of Toblerone. 

The knack if you want to share your Toblerone, or at least to eat it with some ease, is to pinch – don’t pull!  Yes, pinch two triangles together, and they break apart easily.   With the standard and medium ones, even I could do it with just my index finger and thumb.  But with the giant one, OK, I did need to use my palm to squeeze!  But I have small hands – size 6 gloves.  May be a tall ‘un (with giant hands) could still use finger and thumb to break apart the giant one?

Win this unique, never to be repeated item, and you could tell us how you share it!

To be clear – the auction item has not been opened – the giant Toblerone you see above is from the plain (extra) bar I bought (for research purposes)!



Epilogue

More history about this giant Toblerone auction item… I had the idea in the summer, around the time the www.genevathriller.com website was announced. Alas the personalisation lettering when ordering from the www.toblerone.co.uk website is limited to 16 characters, so I couldn’t have used the Geneva website in full anyway. 

I had hoped to get Richard to sign and pose with the behemoth, but despite having the privilege of seeing Richard at various book promo event 4 times this year, Richard and chocolate never met.

I took the bar to the Sevenoaks Bookshop event, where Richard was interviewed by lovely CJ Tudor.  I drove there, so taking the bar was easy, and I met up with my London theatre partner-in-crime, PK, as well as recognising and meeting up with a few other Richard fans we had met at the Waterstones Piccadilly Q&A event, where Richard had been interviewed by Lucy Foley.  I hadn’t taken the giant T to Piccadilly because I had been trekking around London all day beforehand – first a wonderful Monet Immersive art show at the Boiler House, Brick Lane, and then hunting for the giant advertising hoarding near the Old Vic theatre, Waterloo, which Richard had posed at the day before.  I also didn’t want to bash the choccie bar about, and I hadn’t got a suitable bag to keep it in, without stretching my arms to Mr Tickle lengths!

I think the Piccadilly event was my favourite ‘Armitaging’ event this year, as I got to give him a present – a book on the history of the science park where his Mum and Dad had first met (and where I still work).  I’m still laughing at the glee in which he accepted the gift.  I hope it will be enjoyable to him and his family.  It was also the day of Richard’s book’s official launch, and he was having a party later that night.  Despite being one of the first to get my book signed (we were taken in row order, from the front row backwards), I had to wait whilst a friend got a photo re-taken with Richard – in her first photo, one of them had their eyes closed!  She was devastated, and so we waited until all had gone through for the repeat photo.  Because of the wait, I got to notice one of Richard’s close entourage hovering patiently in the background.  As soon as all the fans’ books had been signed, and photos taken, he unobtrusively came over and reminded everyone of the time, and so Richard and friends scooted out in a flash.

Likewise (as quick as a flash, I mean!), Richard left the Sevenoaks event as soon as the interview was over.  He was later spotted at the Madonna tour opening concert at the London O2 arena that same night, presumably having gone with friends Charlie Murphy and Sam Yates amongst others, if an IG story from her account (now deleted) is anything to go by?  Richard also released a short selfie video looking around a Sainsbury’s supermarket for his book, dressed in the same outfit as he had worn to Sevenoaks, and to his earlier book signing at Waterstones Bluewater the same day.  So he probably recorded that video earlier in the day, or shortly before changing to go out?  All sounds like it was a pretty full-on day for him, so I don’t begrudge him rushing off after the CJ interview.

I know at least one other fan, who had taken some various other books for Richard to sign at different book-signing event this year, mentioning the fundraiser as the reason for asking for the signatures, but who was politely refused. Richard said he could only sign his own book on these occasions.  So I don’t think I’m going to be too regretful that I didn’t hoick the chocolate bar across London to any of the other meets.

I took what opportunities that remained at Sevenoaks with the behemoth after Richard left.  CJ Tudor stayed behind and signed (her) books and chatted with fans.  She said it had taken her 10 years to get published from writing her first book. Nevertheless she was very supportive of Richard (who obviously had been able to circumvent such slogging).  I bought and got one of her books signed (The Burning Girls), and asked her if she would model the chocolate bar, which she kindly did!  I needed some scale for the bar, you see!  I hadn’t thought of putting the bar alongside a standard sized bar at the time. I warned her I was going to put the photos on social media, and she was kind enough to ‘like’ my post of her holding it.  I should add that I did remunerate her with a standard Toblerone afterwards for her efforts!

My grateful thanks, once again, to CJ, for her modelling and enthusiasm!

12 thoughts on “Is happiness triangle shaped?

  1. Zed, What a fabulous post on sooo many levels! First super clever and creative with your auction entry. Second excellent you got to attend 4 book signing events! Third and most impressive to me is to get CJ to hold your gigantic Toberone for the photo. She seems over the moon !
    And I have to ask how did you like Geneva? I haven’t read it yet but am curious how he writes. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Michele for your kind words. I think everyone who’s seen a giant Toblerone has that expression! And CJ is a very smiley person – I’ve not read any of her books yet – am told they are horror – which seems quite at odds with her expressions! 😅 Geneva is a very well performed book. It is a thriller, and several surprises. I’ve not read it yet – just listened to the audiobook. I would recommend a listen, or if you prefer, a read. 🤗

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Zed I think I’ll read it because I’m very curious how The Armitage writes! ✍️
        I’m not a horror fan at all but CJ seems very down to earth an DC kudos to you for getting that photo 😁❤️

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks Zed! I thought about the audio book because I’m a huge Nicola Walker fan. My attention span isn’t great these days 😁
        Congrats on your auction item! I’m so glad it did very well! Such a clever idea!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. One of my colleagues today said they were expecting the giant Toblerone to be empty on the middle – like one of those Easter eggs. I can assure you it is solid, all the way through, and good teeth are required to consume it! 🤣 No assurances on whether teeth will remain ‘good’ after consumption though! 😅😜

    Like

  3. Such a lovely read! Loads of memories and excitement popping up in my mind. Do I remember correctly, that we took a group photo at Waterstones’ ? Hope the Toblerone finds an avid chocolate eater and one with some muscles!! Good luck for the auction!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I was very happy to meet you in Piccadilly, and then go for dinner after the Sevenoaks event. That cafe was a great memory too! 😅Yes, there was a great photo of several of us outside Waterstones Piccadilly. I thought I had sent it to you on your X (Twitter) account by DM. Let me know if you want me to resend it? I did not want to post it as I did not have everyone’s permission to make it public? 🤔😬

      Like

      1. What a fab idea Zed! I am glad that you had so many inteRActions this year, even though you had to drag the giant Toblerone around, thanks for sharing your impressions. (My auction baubles feature a miniscule empty Toblerone, not so much fun! )Thanks for the tip of how to break the pieces!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you, Armidreamer. I was certainly fortunate to have a great year for RA meets. I know am very fortunate and that many fans not just across the UK, but internationally, weren’t so fortunate. So it really was a privilege. Oh, I didn’t know about the empty Toblerones in your baubles! 🧐🤣 Excellent!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment